Public Defenders


Bar Book Project Committee Members:

  • Rebecca McMahon (Co-Chair), Lawyer, private practice & Adjunct Senior Lecturer, UNSW
  • Richard Wilson SC (Co-Chair), Deputy Senior Public Defender (NSW)
  • Professor Thalia Anthony, Faculty of Law, UTS
  • Her Honour Judge Sophia Beckett, District Court of NSW
  • Josh Brock, Public Defender (NSW)
  • Phoebe Bruce, Judge's Associate, District Court of NSW
  • Rebecca Chant, Solicitor, Aboriginal Legal Service (NSW/ACT) 
  • Renee Emzin (Committee Coordinator), Public Defenders Chambers (NSW)
  • Dr Anthony Hopkins, Associate Professor, College of Law, ANU
  • Professor Jill Hunter, Faculty of Law, UNSW
  • Emma Langton, Solicitor, Aboriginal Services Branch, Legal Aid NSW 
  • Emma Manea, Solicitor, Legal Aid NSW
  • Peter McGrath SC, Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions, ODPP (NSW)
  • Professor Luke McNamara, Centre for Crime, Law and Justice, Faculty of Law, UNSW
  • Pierrette Mizzi, Director Research and Sentencing, Judicial Commission of NSW 
  • Ella Parkes-Talbot, Judge's Associate, District Court of NSW
  • Lauren Stefanou, Judge's Associate, District Court of NSW
  • Jeremy StylesManaging Advocate, Aboriginal Legal Service (NSW/ACT)
  • Prita Supomo, Research Lawyer, Public Defenders Chambers (NSW)
  • Jennifer Wheeler, Research Lawyer, Public Defenders Chambers (NSW)

The Committee thanks the members of its independent advisory panel for their guidance and expertise in compiling this resource:

  • Professor Larissa Behrendt, Director of Research and Academic Programs, Jumbunna Institute of Indigenous Education and Research, UTS
  • Vanessa Edwige, Registered Psychologist, Australian Indigenous Psychologist Association
  • Sarah Hopkins, Chair, Just Reinvest NSW and Managing Solicitor, Justice Projects, Aboriginal Legal Service NSW/ACT
  • George Newhouse, Adjunct Professor of Law, Macquarie University & Principal Solicitor, the National Justice Project (NJP) 
  • Dr Lynette Riley, Sydney School of Education and Social Work, University of Sydney
  • Jane Sanders, Principal Solicitor, The Shopfront Youth Legal Centre

The Committee thanks all reviewers for the generous donation of their time, expertise and advice:

  • The Aboriginal Health & Medical Research Council (AH&MRC)
  • Associate Professor Lucinda Burns, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre, UNSW
  • Dr Kyllie Cripps, Senior Lecturer, UNSW
  • Professor Susan Green, Charles Sturt University
  • Professor Ross HomelSchool of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Griffith University 
  • Dr Robin Murray, Member of the Australian Psychological Society, Fellow of the APS College of Clinical Neuropsychologists 
  • The National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) 
  • Dr Daniel Quin, Psychologist and Teacher, Member of the Australian Psychological Society
  • Dr Molly Schafer, Member of the Australian Psychological Society, Fellow of the Clinical College of Neuropsychologists 
  • Dr Dimitra Tzioumi, Department Head, Child Protection Services, Sydney Children’s Hospital

Panel of Contributors, Supervisors and Consultants:

Ryan Barratt, Isobel Blomfield, Donna Briggs-Ford, Melissa Burgess, Brad Cullen, Alicia D’Arcy, Jade Ernst, Isha Fay, Petra Franks, Tim Gollan, Felicity Graham, Professor Bob Gregory, Drew Hawkes, Suzy Hunter, Michaela Johnston, Lauren Lai, Desiree Leha, Christine Maibom, Dr Tanya Mitchell, Clement Ng, Jason O’Neil, Kirby Pearson, Jeremy Rea, Michael Siciliano, Bryce Wilson, David Woodroffe, Thomas Woods.

The Bar Book Project also acknowledges the contributions and support provided by the Australian Bar Association, the NSW Bar Association, the Public Defenders and the UNSW Centre for Crime, Law and Justice.